13.1 Miles

A few things I learned running 13.1 miles

  • It is entirely possible for me to run 13.1 miles
  • It is not possible for me to run 13.2 miles, at least not currently
  • It is barely possible for me to walk after running 13.1 miles
  • You want to run faster when people cheer
  • There is such a thing as a runners high and I’m pretty sure it is due to lack of oxygen
  • Running is about 90% mental – maybe that’s the case with most things – if you convince yourself you can go just a little bit further you usually can
  • It takes approximately 12 days to run the last mile – don’t try to figure out how that is possible just trust me, the last mile is a long one
  • It is important not to skim read the course description.  Below is the description as it was written on the web site, the words I read are in bold, the words I should have paid more attention to are in italics

Enjoy the wooded scenery, while being challenged on the aggressive and hilly dirt and gravel trails of the 1/2 Marathon course, as it traverses the trails throughout the Big Woods State Park.  The 5K and 10K courses are on dirt and gravel trails through relatively flat areas in the southern part of the park.  All three races are run on cross country trails.  They can be rough and leaf littered this time of the year.  However, the scenery and views are breathtaking in October.

I somehow focused on the words “scenery” and “relatively flat” and the words “challenged”, “aggressive” and “can be rough” didn’t register.  I will definitely read more carefully next time……

It was 48 degrees and drizzling at the start but once you got going it was just the right temperature and it never rained hard, just sprinkled off and on.  I’m not about to complain about a little rain, not this year.

Me sitting in the car before the race trying to stay warm

3 minutes till start time

the trail

I did walk up two hills but they were very steep and long – about 7 miles each (don’t try to work out the math it won’t compute).  But I ran the rest! I was not the fastest, by far, but I wasn’t last either so I was quite happy.

Here are a few shots of me streaking toward the finish line

Two of my best cheerleaders

Slow and steady may not win the race but slow and steady most definitely finishes the race.

Thanks to everyone you sent words of encouragement and well wishes, they were very much appreciated.  And thanks to my very supportive husband, kids and in-laws who stood out in the rain and cheered me on at the finish.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 13.1 Miles

  1. Jamie Harkins says:

    Hey Jody, so proud of you! Wish I could have been there with you, maybe next year! We missed you in Wyoming today!

    JH

  2. Kara says:

    Jody I am SO proud of you…and those cheerleaders are too! Way to go!

  3. Mom says:

    Pretty Work. I’m ready to DRIVE the support vehicle for you and Jamie next year when you go even further!

  4. Sally Bailey says:

    Congrats, Jody, hope your recovery is going well!! We are proud of you, concerned about your mental health-13 1/2 miles? Keep blogging, we love it. Sally and Tarver

  5. Tarver b bailey says:

    Jody- really enjoy your writing,and thank you for including us in your audience. You have a honest talent that makes us laugh, and since we know alot of the characters we can understand and relate to their activites. Keep up the good (PRETTY) work, and keep us informed. Thanks and tell the family hello for me.Tarver

Leave a Reply

