Meatful Mondays…

You may have heard about the Meatless Monday campaign. I heard a guest on the Today show say something along the lines of “it’s really about being healthy and eating more vegetables.” I’m all for being more healthy and I love veggies. That’s why I run, that’s why I have a big salad everyday for lunch and that’s why I lecture my Dad about eating too many Cheetos – which is completely ineffective. But I don’t see why we should have to cut out meat to eat more veggies, my salad is even better with some left over steak or grilled chicken on top and the protein helps me run longer and faster.
I’m joining the Feed Yard Foodie in Meatful Mondays. For the next few weeks I’m going to post some of my favorite Meatful recipes here. If you have a Meatful recipe you’d like to share send it to prettyworkblog@gmail.com

Feed Yard Foodie

This fall, my favorite 7th grader developed a tendency to role her eyes at me during family discussions.  I adopted a new policy at the Feed Yard Foodie house to counteract this unacceptable habit—every eye roll is equal to 10 push-ups.

This new rule has led to two developments: 1. There are fewer eye roll movements at our dinner table, and 2. My oldest daughter is developing “pipes” for bicep muscles that rival what mine looked like during my competitive swimming days…

This new protocol has been incredibly effective, and I view it as one of my more successful parenting initiatives.  My daughter is refocusing on showing respect for adults while also improving her physical strength.  It’s a win-win deal.  She is a smart kid, and over the past few months she has learned to catch herself right before the “eye roll” starts, simply replacing it with a smile…

View original post 413 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meatful Mondays…

  1. Anne says:

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! You made my day. I am so glad to hear that there are others out there that share my thoughts.

    All the best,
    Anne

Leave a Reply

