Squirrel!

Casey said to me the other day, “It’s been a really long time since you’ve posted anything on the blog, what’s your problem?”

Oh where to start…….

The list is extensive but at the moment it basically boils down to this,  my brain functioning too much like the dog from the movie Up.  You know, he’s talking about one thing and then something else grabs his attention and he says “Squirrel!” out of the blue and then jumps back to repeat what he’d said right before.

Unknown

That’s basically how I’ve been operating lately.  Complete lack of focus.

A friend of mine recently sent me a short email about a Wednesday night carpool.  It was a simple, here’s the plan, here’s who’s taking which kids where, what do you think?  Actually, it ended with “Your thoughts?”  That, she soon realized, was her first mistake, to ask me my thoughts.

My thoughts…..Tabata makes me really sore especially when we do push ups…..I want the Love It or List people to come to my house……I’m done with winter and snow, although that makes me feel guilty because of the whole drought, we need the moisture thing but I’m really done with winter now……I need to buy a new alarm clock, one of the ones that lights up because I seriously need to start getting up earlier…..I haven’t exercised yet today and I’m seriously running out of time…..I could take Toga for a walk but I kind of don’t want to, she’s technically not even my dog….I want a new refrigerator….I wonder who the new pope is going to be….I hope there’s a new Nashville on tonight, although I should just go to bed early but I don’t have my new alarm clock yet so I probably won’t get up early anyway, so what’s the point of going to bed early if you’re not going to get up early….I think I might have forgotten some clothes in the washing machine yesterday….I need to order an ice cream cake for Anne’s party but if it’s postponed then we won’t need it till later, although it’s ice cream so we could just keep it in the freezer but we’d probably eat it and I’d have to buy another one, plus at this point I’m not going to get any exercise done today so I don’t really need the extra calories anywhere near me….I wish I could see the future, not the whole future but just in general is next year going to be like…..I kind of like that new show Zero Hour…..there’s a spot on my back that really itches but I can’t reach it because my arms are so sore from Tabata…Squirrel!

She really just wanted to know if I agreed to the carpool plan.

I wish I had a good excuse for my lack of focus but sadly I don’t, trust me I’ve tried to come up with one.

Spring begins next Wednesday so I’ve decided that will be the day it all turns around for me and my brain comes out of hibernation.  That’s as good as a day as any right?

Squirrel!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Squirrel!

  1. carolyncares says:

    I can definitely identify with this! My kids and husband keep telling me to please complete my sentences. 🙂

    • prettywork says:

      the other day I filled the top rack of the dishwasher with dirty dishes, was distracted for minute, came back and unloaded the top rack of the dishwasher. Just as I was putting away the last glass I realized what I had done….

      I keep thinking once it gets warm and the snow/ice melts I’ll get my act together. : )

  2. Bailey says:

    I remember when life used to be that way– bummer. Now it is all better! Tbb

Leave a Reply

