Shipping and then Snow

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A couple of weeks ago, back at the ranch, it was shipping day.  I would love to tell you that this post is filled with pictures and stories from that day.  It’s not.  I didn’t receive a lot of pictures from that day and since a picture says a thousand words and I don’t have many pictures that means I would have to write a whole lot of words to explain it all and lets face it, you’d rather look at the pictures and I don’t have time to write that much.  So, if you’re interested in a more detailed explanation of shipping you can go to last years post shipping 1 and 2.

When I called Dad to get the report I asked him why he doesn’t try to take more pictures for me.  This was his response…and I quote, ” I’m too busy making history to record it.”  That’s the type of attitude I have to work with.  God bless me…..

Anyway, he said, “it went great!  couldn’t have gone any better!”  Now this is always a little bittersweet for me to hear when I’m not there.  I mean, I’m glad that it went well and there were no big wrecks (cause that has been known to happen) but at the same time it’s a little disappointing that they can run the place without me.  And then he mentioned that they had 26 cowboys.  So there you have it.  That explains it.  For the record folks, it takes roughly 26 cowboys to make up for the fact that I wasn’t there….give or take.

They were at the corral at 6:00 am, gathered, sorted, loaded, trucked to the scale, unloaded, weighed, re-sorted, re-loaded and lined up at the lunch table by a little after noon.  And nobody got hurt.

Mom did take a few pictures for me – thank you mother – so here they are.  She also pointed out that she cooked #15 pounds of potatoes and roughly half a beef and there were no leftovers.  I think she was a little miffed that there were no leftovers.  I think she had been counting on using those for the next couple of days.  For the record, I wouldn’t have eaten that much and I would have taken more pictures but when I can’t be there you’re stuck with 26 hungry cowboys with no photography skills.

IMG_2198

at the corral unloading, weighing, sorting and loading again

IMG_2200

IMG_2203

Chase and Alex making supervising the scale room

Lunch – I think they must have eaten the meat before she had a chance to take a picture.

IMG_2195

very large salad

IMG_2196

a large number of rolls

IMG_2197

15# of potatoes…and no leftovers

And then a couple of days later they received their first snowfall.

IMG_2194

The day before the storm

IMG_2193

during the storm

photo[1]

during the storm

photo

during the storm

IMG_2192

the day after the storm

We are all very thankful for the moisture.  Here in Minnesota it’s been quite warm and “windy”.  Today winds are forecast to be in the range 13mph.  Just thought I’d put that in to give all you in Wyoming something to laugh at.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shipping and then Snow

  1. Mom says:

    Please come home next year so we won’t have to have so many cowboys and then I won’t have to cook so darn much! I tried to take more pictures, but for some reason, even with all those cowboys, and cowgirls, I didn’t have a minute to spare. Maybe I need to work on time management skills.

  2. Sharon says:

    Please–you call 13mph a wind? We don’t even notice when the “wind” is blowing 13 mph.
    You’re mother’s meal was GREAT as usual – that’s the reason there were no left-overs~~we all went back for more!

Leave a Reply

