Cancer Didn’t Win

IMG_1044

One of the last times I saw Tom was back in June.  We ran into each other at the Casper Walmart.  I was there to pick up groceries.  He had just finished a chemo treatment and was waiting for the pharmacy to fill a prescription.

He looked a little thinner and a little tired but he was the same old Tom.  We chatted for a minute or two about the kids, the weather and summer cow work.  And then he grabbed my hand and squeezed it and flashed me that thousand watt smile of his.  There were a million things I wanted to say right then and a million memories flashed through my mind but Tom would not have wanted for me to get all sentimental in the middle of Walmart, so I just squeezed his hand, smiled back and hoped he knew what I would have said if I had only known how to say it.

Here we are a few months later, forced to say goodbye long before we should have to.  There is not a stronger, tougher more stubborn cowboy out there anywhere but cancer doesn’t play fair, not even close.  Cancer robbed the world of a sweet soul and a heck of a Cowboy.  Cancer robbed Bob and Sharon of a son, Brenda of her brother, Heidi of her husband, two beautiful little girls of their Daddy and a whole lot of us of the truest friend you’ll ever come across.

Dad won’t be able to call up Tom and say,” we’re thinking about working some cows” and before he can finish, hear Tom say, “what time should I be there and how many horses should I bring” even though Dad was probably calling the night before he needed him.

We won’t be able to watch Tom ride or rope or listen to him tell wild west stories around the cooler after a branding.

Cancer robbed us all of something really special because Tom was one of a kind.

But cancer didn’t win.  There is a quote by Albert Pine, that says, “What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains immortal.” Cancer didn’t win because Tom left a mark on this world and on us that can never be erased.

Anyone who met Tom remembered him and immediately liked him.  Anyone who had the privilege to call him a friend, loved him.  He was always there to help, often without being asked.  He had a smile that could light up a room and a laugh you’d never forget.

Cancer may have robbed of us his physical presence but it can never take away the good that he did, the friendship and the memories.  No one will ever be able to fill the cowboy boots he left behind and we will miss him everyday.  But cancer didn’t win because he will never be forgotten and will always and forever be loved.

All week friends have been posting pictures of Tom I’ve put a few of them together in the video below.

Dad wrote this poem for Tom.  Godspeed my friend…..

Tom

It was early on in 81
Winter here had just begun

And in amongst it’s snow and wind
Here young Tom his life he did begin

Even though he had a wintery start
You could tell, this kid was all heart.

We’ve watched him grow over the years
From his first snoose to a few too many beers.

Saw him ride broncs in the arena and outside
All the while on both he had that grin that was so wide.

It didn’t matter whether it was working cattle or digin post holes
He gave you his all, it was just in his soul.

Now why God did you call this good cowboy home at this time?
When he’s got a young family and is just in his prime?

You know we’ll trust your call is the best
But it sure makes it hard on me and the rest!

I’m sure when you called and said Tom, can you come now
He couldn’t say no, he didn’t know how.

I know there were cowboys to great him up there
And mount him with whatever they had, cause he wouldn’t care.

So we’ll go on cause we’ve no choice in the matter
But we’ll sure miss Tom when the cattle begin to scatter.

1941466_224085771129868_1079019613_o

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cancer Didn’t Win

  1. mandy says:

    Hi Jody! We’ve never met. Im Tyler Stevenson’s wife Mandy. I just wanted to say i love this post and you are so right! Tom will never be forgotten. Cancer cant take our memories that will live on being told over and over. His smile is etched into the hearts of everyone who knew him. Im so glad i saw this today!

  2. Trista says:

    I agree with Mandy. Love everything that was written. Tom will never be forgotten. He is pain free and riding high! Great tribute!

  3. Sharon says:

    Thank You Jody for your heartwarming words. Tom was so blessed to have wonderful friends–many, many came yesterday to share the day with us. I just can not find the words to say how much all the hugs & sincere words about Tom that was shared mean to us. Our hearts are broken and tears come easy, but with the support system that we have–we’ll get through this.
    THANK YOU.

  4. What a nice piece, Jody. My prayers and love to all Tom’s family and friends!
    Kodi

  5. Aimee Robinson says:

    Such a nice tribute to an amazing man. Love this! He will be forever in our hearts and he left us with such great memories. Gone but not forgotten, his memory will live on forever 🙂

  6. Wonderful tribute!!!

  7. Liam Rooney says:

    I’m sorry to hear of Tom’s passing, but greatly appreciate your positive view in making such a tribute to him. It’s a perspective we all can try to adopt when remembering loved ones who fought the good fight against cancer.

  8. aflower says:

    Such a beautiful life this man must have lead. Such a beautiful tribute. My heart goes out to all of you and know the spirit lives on! Blessings.

  9. I went to high school with Tom’s mom, Sharon. I’m so sorry this wonderful young man has left us way to early. My prayers and thoughts are with you all. This was a beautiful video and poem.

  10. Judi Weiland says:

    What a beautiful tribute/ Thank you for sharing.

  11. Pingback: Racing Horses and Bustin Mutton | Pretty Work

  12. Pingback: Dear Tom | Pretty Work

  13. Annie Kinney says:

    My brother is in his final stages of life. He has fought brain cancer for several years now and I came across your article, it is beautifully written and some of it holds true to my brother. I am working on something for his service and I wondered if it would be okay if I could use some of your words. He was a dedicated hard working farmer and cancer did not win, he has fought with everything he has has. I don’t want to use any of your words without your permission, but what you wrote speaks to me.

    • prettywork says:

      Hi Annie,
      I am so sorry to hear about your brother. You are welcome to use my words (credit is always appreciated but in this situation not necessary) I am honored if they are helpful in any way. My family will be holding your family in our thoughts and prayers. My wish is that your brother’s remaining days will be filled with love and peace.
      Take Care,
      Jody

Leave a comment