Back to School

I sent Max and Annie back to school this morning.

IMG_1699IMG_1703

Ok, so that wasn’t this morning, even if that’s the way I still picture them when they set off on their first day of school.

This was this morning.

IMG_7259

I don’t know how it happened.  The first day of middle school and the first day of high school.  I don’t understand how they grew up so fast!  Especially since I don’t feel like I haven’t gotten any older….well except for the aching in my feet and the stiffness in my hip but mentally I don’t feel any older.  In fact, I still haven’t decided what I want to be when I grow up, so how is it possibly that I have a middle schooler and a high schooler?

People warned me that this would happen.  When they were little, moms with older kids would say, “just wait, they grow up fast.”  But I all I knew then, was that some days lasted for weeks and I wondered if I would ever find my way out of the piles of laundry and legos and stuffed animals.  But it’s true.  Once they start school time goes by faster every year.  And now I feel like I’m standing at the edge of a vortex that is getting ready to suck me in and spit out at Annie’s graduation!

I would have never imagined that it was possible to feel so many conflicting emotions all at the same time.  Happy that they are growing up and becoming independent, sad that one day, far too soon, they will be all grown up and off on their own.  Excited about all the fun, new friends and experiences that middle school and high school bring but also terrified about all the fun, new friends and experiences that middle school and high school bring.  Relieved to have the house all to myself again but…..actually, no conflict there just relieved to have my house back to myself again.

Something about this year, probably because it’s a first for both kids, has me thinking back over their school years so far.  It makes me realize how many people have played a part in the lives of my kids.  And I wanted to say thank you.  My kids are so fortunate to have fantastic grandparents, aunts and uncles but also so many other adults who have added so much to their lives.

So, thank you to all their teachers, principles, coaches, small group leaders, scout leaders, pastors, neighbors and parents of their friends and teammates.  You have taught them, guided them, encouraged them and cheered them on in so many different ways.  It’s one thing to hear mom say, “good game!”, it’s another thing to hear your teammates mom or your coach say, “good game!”  Sometimes it takes more than just Mom and Dad, sometimes we need other adults to help us set an example and provide encouragement.  And we are forever grateful to have so many great people walking alongside our family and pouring love and friendship into our kids lives.  Thank you.

And now at the risk of being overly sentimental here’s a little video look back.  Happy 2015/2016 school hear everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to School

  1. Kara McCarthy says:

    Oh Jody! This is spot on…. again! and now I’m crying after watching the video… I’ve watched your kids grow up along side mine… it is quite the journey… thanks for sharing your gift of putting into words what so many of us feel:) hugs to you my friend,
    Kara

  2. Marcia CAmpbell says:

    I love when your mom “likes”
    your blog, then I get to see!! You do have a way with words. I keep waiting for your comments and pictures on Casey’s wedding! Marcia Campbell

  3. My son just entered middle school and I find myself having the same sort of reaction you are. Pretty soon I will find myself an empty-nester – but wasn’t I just graduating high school like yesterday?

Leave a comment